Singa Perumal temple and Chettipuniyam Devaraja perumal Temple.  

Posted by Shamala Krishnan

  1. Singa perumal temple: Vishnu temple.

    Main Deity is Narasimha swamy with an eye in his forehead.

    Importance: This temple, is a cave temple.

  2. chettipunniyam: Vishnu temple.

    Main deity is Devaraja perumal in standing posture and Perundevi thayar is seen in different sanctum.

    Importance: Yoga Hayagreeva perumal which was brought to this place in the year 1823 from Devanadha perumal temple of cuddalore.

  3. Adi Kesava perumal temple: Peyazwar thiruk koil.

    The temple is at the back of Kapaleeswarar temple.

    Main Deity is Adi kesava Perumal and Maragadha valli thayar or Mayoora valli thayar. Teertham is Sarva teertham or Hari hara teertham.

    Importance: Peyazwar’s birth place. There is a separate sanctum for him. We see Anjeyaneyar and Chakkrathazwar in different sanctums.

  4. Vedanta Desikar temple:

    The temple is next to Adi kesava perumal temple.

    Importance: Origanally it was Vedanta Desikar temple. Now we see Sreenivasa perumal, Padmavathi thayar, and Anjaneyar in different sanctums.

This entry was posted on Thursday, April 03, 2008 at Thursday, April 03, 2008 . You can follow any responses to this entry through the comments feed .


Post a Comment

Post a Comment