Parthasarathy perumal Temple and Teerthapaleeswarar temple, Chennai.  

Posted by Shamala Krishnan

  1. Parthasarathy Temple:

    One of 108 Divya Desam temple.
    The temple is in Triplicane of Chennai city.

    Main Deity is Arul megu Venkata Krishnan.Teertham is Kairavani Pushkarani. The pond in front of the temple is of Indra, Soma, Agni, Meena and Vishnu teertham.

    Importance: Parthasarathy Perumal here, is seen with Panchajanyam in one hand and the other pointing towards his feet. We also see Rukmani, his elder brother Balarama, younger brother sathyaki, his son Prathumnan, and grand son Anirudhan within the sanctum along with him.

    Goddess Vedavalli Thyar, and Andal are seen in different sanctums. We see Narashima Swamy in different sanctum with separate dwaja sthambam. Other deities present in the temple are Sri Raman, and Gajendravaradhar in different sanctums.

  2. Teerthapaaleswarar: Siva temple.

    The temple is located at Krishnam pettai, Natesan Street.

    Main Deity is Teerthapaaleeswarar and his consort known as Tripurasundari Amman.

    Importance: In the month of February / march, urchava vigraha of seven temples take a dip in occan and the urchvar of this temple is first to take the dip. The Lingam here is of four side dimension.

This entry was posted on Friday, March 28, 2008 at Friday, March 28, 2008 . You can follow any responses to this entry through the comments feed .


Post a Comment

Post a Comment