Mannarkudi Rajagopala Swamy temple.  

Posted by Shamala Krishnan

  1. Mannarkudi: Rajgopala Swamy temple.

    The temple is about 27 kms from Thiruvavore, on the banks of River Pamani.

    The main Raja Gopuram is of eleven storeys, with seven prakaram. The place is known as Dakshina Dwaraka, Sanbakaranyam and Vasudeva puri.

    As we enter through the main entrance we see another gopuram with mandapam in front leading us in to second prakaram of the temple.

    We enter through the main gopuram, and pass through a big corridor which leads us to Garuda kambam. The Garuda kambam is huge and it is of single stone with Garuda on top of it. Punga tree is sthala vruksham of the temple.

    Min Deity is Swayambu Moorthy known as Vasudevar in standing posture with sanku and Chakkram in his hands. We see Sridevi and Bhoodevi to either side. The Vimanam on main sanctum is Swayambu Vimanam.

    Urchavar here, known as Sri Rajagopalan, is seen in front of a cow, along with Rukmani and Sathyabama. There is a separate sanctum for Sengkamala Thayar here.
    There is a Krishna teertha pushkarani with a (Nerazhi mandapam) mandapam, in it.

    As we go around the inner prakaram we see, Venugopalan, Lakshmi Narayanan, Anantha Padmanaban, Sreenivasan, Ramar, Hanuman, Thirumangai Azwar, Chakkrthazwar, Manavala ma munigal, Nammazwar, and Kuratthazwar in different sanctums.

    Lord Brahma and Agni worshipped Lord here and were blessed.

This entry was posted on Tuesday, January 18, 2011 at Tuesday, January 18, 2011 . You can follow any responses to this entry through the comments feed .


Post a Comment

Post a Comment