Temples of kumbakonam town  

Posted by Shamala Krishnan in , , , ,

  1. Kumbeswarar Temple:

    This is one of 275 Siva Devara Sthalams.

    Main deity: Swayambu linga known as Kumbeswarar and Mangala nayaki. Prithivi sthalam. The top portion of ling is sharp.(kuda mukku)Teertham: is Mahamaga teertham and Surya pushkarani.

    Importance: when the end of universe was happening a pot of nectar was floating, Siva took the form of kratha and destroyed the pot and he opted to stay in the place where the main temple is now says sthala purna. This place is one of the sakthi peetam and Goddess is known as Manthra peedeswari.

    Kumba mela is once in 12 years. At that time kumeswara in rishba vahana and pancha moorties visit the mahamaha tank. Purana says that all the rivers are present in tank at that auspcious time. This is one of the saptha sthana sthalam.

    Navakkuarasar sang hymns on Siva.

  2. Nageshwarar:

    One of 275 important temples of Siva.

    Main deity is Swayambu linga known as Nageshwarar and Periya nayaki. The base of linga is huge. Sthala vruksham is Vilvam.

    Importance: The pot of nectar when it was broken to pieces vilva formed as a siva linga and known as Nageshwarar. Adi seshan was unable to bear he weight of the universe. He approached Siva who asked him to worship here, and gained strength. The nataraja mantapa is in the form of charriot with 2 horses and 4 elephants.

    Sun pays, his homage to Siva on April 11, 12,and 13 and these days sun light falls on main deity Siva.

    Navakkuarasar sang hymns on Lord Siva.

  3. chakkrapani temple: Vishnu temple.

    Main deity: chakkrapani iw seen with 8 hands holding, sanku, chakkra, bow, axe, shovel, gadai, stick, and lotus. Chakkrapani and his consort vijayavalli thayar are seen in standing posture. We see chakkra at the back of god.

    Suns haughtyness about his brightness was subdued by lord chakkrapani. Agni and Brahma worshipped vishnu here. Chakkrapani here is an example for siva vishnu tathvam.

  4. Banapureeswarar: Siva temple.

    Main deity: Swayambu linga known as Banapureeswarar and Soma kamalambikai.

    Importance: Siva as Kradha moorthy broke the pot of nectar by his arrow in this place, hence the name banadurai.

  5. Adi kambatta Viswanadhar temple: This temple is near Adi Kumbeswara temple.

    Main deity: Swayambu linga known as Viswanadhar and his consort Ananda Nithyammi.

    Importance: During Nayaka period coin minting was here so the temple is known as Kambatta Viswanadhar.

  6. Maruda nallore:

    This is one of 275 important siva temple. Previously the place is also known as Thiru karrukadi. It is about 8kms from Kumbakonam.

    Main deity: Karukkudi nadhar and Sarvalankara Ambikai. Teertham is Yama teertham.

    Importance: sthala ganesha known as Valamburi ganesha. Linga is of mud and small in size. Impression of hands are visible on linga. Sambandhar sang hymns on Siva.

  7. Someswarar:

    One of the 275 important temples of Siva. The temple is near portamari kulam (pond).

    Main deity is Swayambu linga known as Someswara and his consort Soma sundari.

    Importance: Moon worshipped Siva here and hence the name Someswarar. In the month of february / march on he day of Maga star all 9 river goddess meet here. When they all come goddess embraces god out of fear. Hence the Siva is known by name Kayaroganar. The hanging (uri) fell in this place so he is called as sikkaserar.

    Sambandhar sang hymns on siva.

  8. Kasi Viswanadhar: Siva temple.

    This temple is to north of mahamaga pond.

    Main deity is Kasi Viswanadhar and Visalakshi amman.

    Importance: All 9 river goddess Kaveri, Ganga, Yamuna, Saraswathi, Narmada, Krishna, Godavari, Tungabadra, and Sarau are in temple. This is the only temple where we see all of them together.

    Purana says they are waiting there to take a dip along with Siva. Agastyar asked Rama to worship Siva here to overthrow Ravana and Rama did as per wishes of muni and Siva was pleased with him. Rudra amsa was given to Rama, hence siva is known as Kayarogaranar.

  9. Abimukeswarar: Siva temple.

    This temple is to the east side of mahamaga pond.

    Main deity: Swyambu linga known as Abimukeswarar and his consort Amudha valli.

    Importance: During the dooms day Siva took the form of hunter and broke the pot of nectar at that time the coconut fell here and swayambu linga and coconut plant came up hence the name Narikesaran.

    The temple is important place for thula rasi people. When Nava kanniyar river goddess came siva turned around to give darshan for them so he is known as Abimukeswarar.

  10. Gowthameswarar: Siva temple.

    The temple is to south west of mahamaga pond.

    Main deity is Swayambu linga known as Gowthameswarar and his consort Souandra nayaki. Teertham is Gowthama teertham.

    Importance: The thread around the kumba fell here and linga formed and known as Gowthameswaran. Gowthama muni to get rid of the sin due to killing of a cow he worshipped siva here and made a pond.

  11. Vedanarayana perumal: Vishnu temple.

    Importance: Perumal Vishnu in the form of Brahma with Saraswathi and Gayatri known as Vedanarayana swamy in standing posture Here Brahma is with 4 faces. Narashimar is also seen here.

  12. Koranattu karuppur:

    Siva temple and Petti kali amman. The place is about Kumbakonam to Annaikarai 3kms is Karrupur Or patalavanam.

    Main deity: Sundareswarar and his consort Abhirami ammi

    Importance: Petti kali amman came floating shore in this place. She was kept in temple and worshipped. The box is opened only once in a year with all rituals.

  13. Sarangapani temple:

    One of 108 Divya desam. The temple is near Portamari kulam.

    Main deity is Sarangapani in sleeping posture and his consort Komalavalli thayar. Teertham is Hema pushkarani.

    Importance: There are 2 main doors known as utharayana and dakshinayana doors. uthsava vigraha has bow in his hand hence the name Sarangapani. The main gopuram is third highest one of vishnu temple 150 feet. The temple has vasantha mandapam and 100 pillar mandapam. Other deities like Sreenivasar, Krishna, Andal Gopalan, and Garuda are there. Lakshmi got married to perumal in the name of Komala valli the daughter of Hema muni.

  14. Ramaswamy Temple:

    The temple is in Kumbakonam Town near Kumbeswarar Temple.
    The main raja Gopuram is of five stories with single prakaram.

    There is a big corridor with beautiful sculptured pillars. Every piece of work is really amazing. The temple was renovated during Raghu Nayakar period.

    The main deity is Sri Ramar with his consort Seetha, his brothers, Lakshmana, Baratha, Sathrugna and Hanuman in pattabishekam form.

This entry was posted on Sunday, February 25, 2007 at Sunday, February 25, 2007 and is filed under , , , , . You can follow any responses to this entry through the comments feed .


Post a Comment

Post a Comment